Washington Council of Police & Sheriffs History

The Washington Council of Police & Sheriffs (WACOPS) has been in operation since 1962. In it's time, WACOPS has been involved in numerous legislative efforts to advocate for legislation that would improve pension and benefits, protect collective bargaining rights, and safety for law enforcement officers in the State of Washington. In the early years, the council represented law enforcement in the ten First Class Cities and eventually grew to having more than 100 member organizations and representing 60% of Washington State's peace officers

Early legislative efforts dealt with improving the benefits for members covered under RCW 41.20, forerunners to the LEOFF 1 system. Some of the many successful efforts to improve the 41.20 system dealt with on-duty disability pension benefits, survivors’ benefits, increasing the retirement amount on 25 years of service, defining rank in civil service law, sick benefits, and many others.


Organizational and leadership history, by the years:

2019:  Chris Tracy, Tacoma Police Guild Local #6, named President.

2017: Teresa Taylor named Executive Director.

2016: Carl Nelson named Executive Director.

2013: Craig Bulkley, Spokane Police Department, named President.

2010: Dave Hayes, Snohomish County Sheriff Deputy, named President.  The Labor Defense Group (LDG)  was incorporated to represent guilds in contract negotiations and have access to PORAC coverage. 

2008: Mark Lann, Whatcom County Sheriff Deputy, named President.

2007: Deb Prather, Everett Police Department, named President. Jamie Daniels named Executive Director.

2003: Benevolent Fund established.

2002: Initiative creates LEOFF II Board.

2000: Sgt. Mike Amos, Yakima Police, named President. Bill Hanson, former President of the Washington State Patrol Troopers Association, named Executive Director.

1998: WACOPS Scholarship Program established.

1997: Organization incorporated as the Washington Council of Police and Sheriffs (WACOPS) to recognize that the organization represented both police officers and deputy sheriffs. Public Safety Employees Insurance, Inc., our subsidiary insurance company, incorporated.

1994: James Mattheis, Tacoma Police Officers Union, named President.

1992: The Council purchased its own building located at 200 Union Avenue S.E. in Olympia and named it the Charles L. Marsh Building (formerly the Mowell House).

1990: Mike Patrick, former Seattle Police officer and state legislator, named Executive Director. 

1989: Bob Shilling, Seattle Police Officers Guild, named President.

1988: Gary Lentz, Clark County Deputy Sheriff’s Association, named President.

1986: Organization incorporated as Washington State Council of Police Officers.

1984: Marvin Skeen, Bellevue Police Officers Guild, named President.

1981: Sgt. Dick Chapman, Spokane Police Officers Guild, named President.

1980: Council of Police Political Support, our political action committee, formed.

1971: Lt. Stan May, Yakima Police officers Guild, named President. Charles Marsh named the first Executive Director.

1969: Organization incorporated as Washington State Council of Police Officers in First Class Cities.

1968: Charles Marsh, Tacoma Police, named President.                                                     
1962: Organization incorporated as the Police Legislative Committee, Inc.